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From the Editor 

  

Great Bridge Players: 

Charles Goren and Harry Fishbein traveled to a 
tournament in upstate New York. Each was playing with 
a different partner. Goren won five events with his 
partner. Fishbein was 2nd in each of the contests won 
by Goren. On the way home, Fishbein commented to 
Goren, “I bet I beat you in one thing this trip.” 

Said Goren, “What would that be?” 

Fishbein: “I made off with five bars of soap from the 
hotel.” 

Goren’s rejoinder: “Second again.” 

Reprinted from 46th Spring North American Bridge 
Championships Daily Bulletin. Volume 46, Number 4, 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (March 10, 2003) 

 

Carol Jewett, Editor 
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Upcoming Tournaments and Events 

 Sectionals: 

• Spring - Nov. 14-17 Info 
• Austin - Nov. 30-Dec. 1 Info 
• STac Unit 174 - Dec 2-8 Info 
• STac Units 173, 176, 183, 285 - Dec 2-8 Info 

 Events: 

• District 16 Zoom Spanish Lecture - Nov 16 at 12:30 PM 
• District 16 Zoom I/N Lecture: 
• "Perfectly Powerful Preempts"  

By Thomas Rush - Nov 23 at noon    Lecture  
• 0-50 masterpoint games every Monday at 4:00 p.m. 
• 0-100 masterpoint games every day at 6:00 p.m. 
• 0-200 masterpoint games every day at 6:05 p.m. 

  

For Information on Other Tournaments in General for District 16, click here.  

     

 

 

 

 

 

Bridge Math 

 

 

In September's newsletter, the Bridge Math article ended showing two suit 
combinations holding the ace and king of a suit, but missing  the queen or  the jack 
and pointed out that in both combinations, the mathematically preferable approach 
in terms of play was to play the finesse rather than just lead the ace and king of the 
suit in hopes that the missing honor would fall. In a recent presentation in Dallas, 
Scott Nason explained when you should "play for the drop." Here is an abridged and 
abbreviated version of his presentation. 

http://mail1.d16acbl.org/19d813a5-2752-487a-a2a9-18c6dd80d6e6CEBC1831A63CE93884CB451C6D9D3D03
http://mail1.d16acbl.org/19d813a5-2752-487a-a2a9-18c6dd80d6e6A73B1768D0CA6D4679207715D0493D33
http://mail1.d16acbl.org/19d813a5-2752-487a-a2a9-18c6dd80d6e649C75EAE45103907D314228151AE7F24
http://mail1.d16acbl.org/19d813a5-2752-487a-a2a9-18c6dd80d6e6DCF949C537D77652231160BEF4A95145
http://mail1.d16acbl.org/19d813a5-2752-487a-a2a9-18c6dd80d6e6FF2F4997E8B07A833E9EB7C6311E5676
http://mail1.d16acbl.org/19d813a5-2752-487a-a2a9-18c6dd80d6e63DF3E2FFCE68933C2F080114C18EC2F4


“8 Ever/9 Never” 

In bridge, 8 Ever/9 Never is a “rule” for when to finesse and when to play for the drop. 
It states that if you are missing five cards in a suit, including the queen (i.e., your two 
hands contain eight, including the AKJ), then you should finesse, while if you have 
nine, that you should play off the ace and king, hoping the queen falls. 

With 8, the odds clearly favor finessing, so it is almost always the right strategy – 
unless, for example, you “know” the queen must be off-side, or you can afford to lose 
the trick to the onside hand, but not to the other hand. 

With 9, the odds very slightly favor playing for the drop, so even small hints at the 
actual lay of the cards might well suggest“ breaking the rule.” 

Restricted Choice 

We learned to play for the drop when missing four to the queen, but if we are missing 
the queen and the jack there is no finesse, so obviously we play for the drop, hoping 
that the suit breaks 2/2 and both honors will fall. 

But what if we play one high honor and the jack or the queen falls? Now we may have 
a choice that we didn’t expect. Should we continue to play for the drop or – if 
available – finesse against the remaining honor? 

Restricted choice teaches us that it is much more likely that the honor that fell is a 
singleton, rather than from QJ doubleton. So we should assume that the other hand 
started with honor-third and finesse if we can. 

Material from “Bridge Odds: 8 Ever/9 Never and Other Card Combination Best 
Chances,” presented by Scott Nason at the District 16 Dallas Regional August 27, 
2024. 

 

 

When Not To Lead a Suit 

 

 

  

There are few hard and fast rules in bridge, but one that is pretty close is: as 
defender, avoid breaking a new suit for the declarer. The less recognized corollary to 
this rule is: as declarer and as soon as the dummy comes down, check to see if there 



is a suit you need to try a force the defense to lead to you and play towards that 
outcome if possible.  In 2018, Geoffe Booth gave a presentation at the Houston 
Regional on when not to lead a suit if you can avoid it. Here is an abridged and edited 
version of his presentation.  

 

When Not to Lead a Suit 

By Geoffe Booth 

Generally, bridge is not a game for wimps, but sometimes you need to be passive. 
The major theme of this presentation is to recognize a dummy where a passive 
defense is called for. If dummy has no long suits and no ruffing potential, then 
defenders do best if declarer is forced to be the first to lead each suit. It is never 
advantageous to lead a suit first. If a suit is solid, it may not matter who leads it first, 
but often the side that leads a suit first loses a trick. 

A suit is said to be frozen if it costs a trick to whichever side leads it first. Some suits 
are immediately frozen; others are frozen after the first trick. Consider the following 
two hands and “play” them mentally leading first from one hand and then from 
another. 

             J42 

K105                A986 

               Q73 

 

              K65 

Q83                 A1097 

               J42 

 

 It costs a trick to whichever side leads the suit first. These two hands were 
immediately frozen. The next hand becomes frozen as the hand is played: 

 



             1065 

AK97               J82 

              Q43 

  

After the ace or king is cashed, the suit is frozen. Whichever side leads the suit next 
loses a trick. Here are other examples of frozen suit combinations. In each case, the 
side that breaks the suit loses a trick. 

 

           J106 

K73                   Q954 

            A82 

 

             1032 

Q98                   K764 

                AJ5 

This last one is tricky. 

            1097 

A84                   KJ32 

              Q65 

If declarer leads the 10 from dummy, what does the defense have to do to prevent 
declarer from scoring a trick in this suit? If East plays small, South plays small and 
West must win the ace. Now South can lead from dummy toward the queen and set 
up a trick. It doesn’t do East any good to play the jack either. South will cover with the 
queen, West will win the ace, but now the suit looks like this: 

 

 



            97 

84                    K32 

            65 

 

South now gets a trick by leading toward dummy and finessing the 7 if West plays 
low. It turns out the only defense is for East to play a very counter-intuitive second-
hand-high and rise with the king. This stops North/South from getting a trick in the 
suit, but now the suit looks like this: 

 

           97 

A8                    J32 

           Q6 

 

And the suit is still frozen. Whichever side leads this suit first forfeits a trick. As I told 
you, this is not a game for wimps. 
 

 

 

 

Frank Stewart Tip 

 

 

  

Help from an Opponent 

  

It’s usually better if you get to play last to a trick. To execute an endplay, you present 
an opponent with the lead so that you get to play last and anything he leads will 
benefit you. 

 



 765  

 J43  

 J3  

 AQ962 

 Q10843                         KJ 

 K62                                10987 

 K62                                109874 

 53                                      J7 
 

 A92  
 AQ5  
 AQ5 
 K1084 

 

My colleague Alfred Sheinwold (1912-1997) used this deal to illustrate an endplay 
with his inimitable style: “Once upon a time,” Sheinwold wrote, “There was a poor 
but honest bridge player who was terrible at finessing. When he had a crucial choice 
of finesses, he always tried the wrong one. His Fairy Godmother took pity on him and 
gave him a magic coin. ‘When you have a choice of finesses,’ the FG said, ‘decide 
that heads means one finesse and tails means the other. The coin will tell you what 
to do.’ That worked well for a year and a day, Sheinwold went on, until this deal came 
along. West led a spade against 3NT. Declarer let East’s king win but took the return 

of the J. He counted eight tricks saw that a winning finesse in a red suit would give 
him nine, so he pulled out the magic coin.  

“Meanwhile,” Sheinwold wrote, “West sat there with a cynical look; he didn’t believe 
in magic coins and he knew neither finesse would work. South decided that heads 
meant to finesse in hearts, tails in diamonds. But when he flipped the coin, it landed 
on its edge and bounced out the window and down a drain. 

Luckily, South wasn’t a complete klutz. He figured that meant he shouldn’t take a 
finesse. Instead, he cashed two clubs, then exited with his last spade. West took 
three spades, but then he had to lead a red card, and South won his ninth trick 
without risking a finesse." 



  

 

 

 

Puzzle Hand 

 

 

  

Make the Most of Dummy 

  

Dummy 

 987 
 32 
 K654 
 5432 

  

Declarer (You) 

 AKQJ10 
 9654 
 A32 
 AK 

  

In a 4  contract, what is your plan for 10 tricks after the lead of the Q? 

Answer: In a trump contract, you start by counting losers in the long hand (the hand 
with the most trumps). Here, you have three heart losers and two diamond losers. 

Fortunately, dummy’s K covers one of your diamond losers, but you still have four 
losers total – one too many. What to do about this? You have two options: the 
diamond suit could split 3-3, allowing you to discard a heart from your hand, or you 
can ruff a heart in dummy. Only one option is foolproof. 



You guessed it – ruff that heart! Win the A and lead a low heart at trick two. Either 
defender can win and see what you’re up to; they will lead a trump. No bother: win 
the spade and lead another heart. Win the next spade return and trump your third 
heart in dummy. 

The full deal: 

  

 987 
 32 
 K654 
 5432 

 

 654               32 

 AQJ10.         K987 

 87                 QJ109 

 QJ109          876 

 

 AKQJ10 
 654 
 A32 
 AK 

  

Note than an initial trump lead by the West hand would put the defenders one step 
ahead in the race to exhaust North’s trumps. 

 

Reprinted from ACBL Bridge Bulletin Deal Me In (October 2023). 

 

 
 

 

 

It's The Law 

 

 



LAW 90* 

“…The director…may also assess procedural penalties for any offense that unduly 
delays or obstructs the game.” 

Slow play, especially habitual slow play, is a violation of law and subject to penalty. 
When a pair has fallenbehind, it is incumbent on them to make up the time lost as 
quickly as possible whether at fault or not. All players are expected to make a 
concerted effort to catch up when they have fallen behind, regardless of the reason 
for their lateness. 

In the absence of compelling evidence to the contrary, the director should presume 
that a pair finishing a round late by more than two or three minutes on more than one 
occasion during a session is responsible for the lateness. There is a strong 
expectation that the director will penalize such a pair. The size of a penalty will tend 
to increase for subsequent instances of slow play and chronic or egregious slow 
play. While warnings typically will be given before a penalty is assessed, failure to do 
so in no way limits the director’s authority to issue a penalty. 

Reprinted from Daily Bulletin, Austin 2021 Regional Dec. 5, 2021 @ p.4 

To a very large extent, avoiding slow play is not so much a matter of playing "fast" as 
it is a matter of avoiding unnecessary delays. Here are some common sense things 
you can do to avoid unnecessary delays: 

• If you are on lead, lead first and write things down on your convention 
card after you have led. 

• If you are the declarer, claim when you are able to do so rather than 
continue to play the hand when the outcome is clear. 

• Do not engage in postmortems regarding a hand when there are still 
hands that need to be played in a round. 

• Even if you and your partner are not engaged in bidding on a given 
hand, pay attention to all of the bidding so that you do not need to ask 
for reviews of the bidding before the play begins. 

• As you are pulling your cards out of the slot on a board, check to see if 
you are the opening bidder. 

*Law 90,  American Contract Bridge League Laws of Duplicate Bridge, (2017). 
 

 

 



  

  

 

 

 

 


