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From	the	Editor

Of	a	King	and	Bridge
	
									King	Edward	VII	of	Great	Britain	(Queen	Victoria’s	son)	enjoyed	playing	the	game	of	bridge	and	especially
enjoyed	it	when	he	could	play	with	his	very	special	friend	the	Honorable	Mrs.	Alice	Keppel	as	his	partner.
Contemporary	accounts	suggest	that	the	king	was	regarded	as	a	mediocre	bridge	player	whereas	Mrs.	Keppel	was
considered	to	be	excellent	at	playing	the	game.	Then,	as	now,	this	mismatch	could	lead	to	errors	on	the	part	of	one
player	and	exasperation	on	the	part	of	the	other:
								"After	dinner,	usually,	a	few	rubbers	of	bridge	were	played.	The	king	was	very	keen	on	bridge,	and	though	he
played	only	moderately	well,	he	could	criticize	mistakes.	He	was	frequently	an	unlucky	card-holder	and	thus	was
delighted	if	he	won.	If	the	cards	were	really	bad	he	lost	interest	in	the	game	and	made	mistakes.	Once,	after	he	had
complained	that	his	partners	always	selected	cheap	suits	without	giving	him	the	opportunity	of	announcing	something
better,	his	partner,	the	Hon.	Mrs.	Keppel,	left	it	to	him	to	make	trumps.	He	glanced	at	his	cards	and	said,	“I	do	not
know	what	you	will	say	to	it,	but	I	make	No	trumps.”	When	he	put	down	his	cards	(being	“dummy”)	there	was	not	a
single	trick	in	his	hand.	Mrs.	Keppel,	whose	cards	were	equally	bad	and	saw	that	her	opponents	would	make	a	grand
slam,	at	once	replied,	“All	I	can	say	sire	is:	God	save	the	King	and	preserve	Mrs.	Keppel.”
	
Sir	Felix	Samson’s	Memoirs	as	quoted	in	King	Edward	VII:	A	Biography,	V.	2;	Lee,	Sir	Sidney;	McMillan	Company	(1927).
	
Note:	The	early	form	of	bridge	being	played	by	the	king	and	Mrs.	Keppel	did	not	involve	a	competitive	auction	to
determine	the	nature	and	level	of	bid	at	which	a	hand	would	be	played.	Rather,	the	dealer	or,	failing	a	declaration	by
the	dealer,	the	dealer’s	partner	would	designate	that	a	given	hand	would	be	played	with	an	identified	suit	as	trumps
or	with	no	trumps	based	only	upon	an	examination	of	his	or	her	hand.
	
	
Carol	Jewett,	Editor
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Upcoming	Tournaments	and	Events
	
Regional:
Ajijic	(Mexico)	-	Sept.	24-29																																												View	Tournament	Flyer													
Galveston	-	Oct.	25-27																																																				View	Information
(I/N	Regional)
	
Sectionals:
Spring	(Houston)	-	Sept.	19-22																																							View	Tournament	Flyer							
Austin	-	Sept.	19-22																																																								View	Tournament	Flyer																															
Beaumont	-	Sept.	26-28																																																	View	Tournament	Flyer	
Dist.	16	STaC	-	Sept.	30	-	Oct.	6																																				View	Information
Fort	Worth	-	Oct.	8-10																																																				View	Tournament	Flyer

https://web2.acbl.org/Tournaments/Ads/2024/09/2409122.pdf
https://tournaments.acbl.org/schedule.php?sanction=2410111
https://www.bridgewebs.com/bcoh/2024%20September%20Flyer.pdf
https://web2.acbl.org/Tournaments/Ads/2024/09/2409312.pdf
https://web2.acbl.org/Tournaments/Ads/2024/09/2409316.pdf
https://tournaments.acbl.org/schedule.php?sanction=2410507
https://web2.acbl.org/Tournaments/Ads/2024/10/2410304.pdf


Austin	-	Oct.	12-13																																																									View	Tournament	Flyer
San	Antonio	-	Oct.	16-19																																															View	Tournament	Flyer
Galveston	-	Oct.	25-27																																																			View	Information
Galveston	(Cruise)	-	Oct.	27-Nov.	3																															View	Tournament	Flyer
Denton	-	Oct.	31-Nov.	2																																																		View	Tournament	Flyer
									
	
Event:
District	16	Zoom	Lecture																																																Lecture																																																													
																																							
"Bridge	Ethics"
September	28	at	12.00	Noon
	
For	Information	on	Other	Tournaments	in	General	for	District	16,	click	here.	
♠	♥	♦	♣	
	

Bridge	Math

	
			
In	a	perfect	world,	you	would	be	able	to	make	your	suit	contracts	using	trump	cards	only	and	you	would	be	able	to
make	your	notrump	contracts	by	taking	the	necessary	number	of	tricks	off	the	top.	Usually,	however,	to	make	your
suit	contracts	you	need	to	find	a	trick	or	so	in	the	non-trump	suits	and	to	make	your	no	trump	contracts,	you	need	to
develop	a	trick	or	so	by	promoting	cards	into	winners	in	a	suit	or	suits.	Aces	virtually	always	take	tricks,	so	what	we
are	talking	about	here	is	generating	tricks	with	kings,	queens,	and	sometimes	(rarely)	jacks.	Moreover,	we	are	talking
about	doing	this	using	short	card	combinations	because	in	a	suit	contract,	the	predominance	of	the	trump	suit	means
that	the	other	three	suits	likely	will	be	short	suit	combinations	and	in	a	notrump	contract	the	generally	balanced
nature	of	the	hands	means	that	at	least	two	of	the	suits	will	likely	be	in	short	suit	combinations.	Four	card	suit
combinations	divided	2/2	without	an	ace	or	a	king/queen	combination	resolve	to	two	possibilities	in	terms	of
generating	tricks:
	

Kx
xx
	

Lead	low	towards	the	king	and	play	it	if	your	LHO	does	not	play	the	ace.	This	is	a	50%	possibility	for	one	trick.
	
AQ
xx
	

Lead	low	towards	the	AQ	and	play	the	Q	if	you’re	LHO	does	not	play	the	king.	This	is	a	50%	possibility	for	taking	a	trick
with	the	queen.
	
Some	five	card	combinations	are	essentially	the	same	as	the	above:
	

Kxx
xx
	

Again,	lead	low	toward	the	king.
	

AQx
xx
	

Again,	lead	low	toward	the	AQ.
	
Qx
Axx
	

The	ace	is	an	automatic	trick.	Before	you	cash	it,	lead	low	towards	the	queen.	You	will	take	two	tricks	if	your	LHO	has
the	king.
	
Consider	these	two	holdings	and	assume	you	are	the	declarer	playing	them.	In	each	case,	you	hold	five	cards	in	the
suit	facing	a	singleton.
	

AKQ10
			x
	

AKJ10
			x
	

In	one	hand	you	are	missing	the	jack	and	in	the	other	hand	you	are	missing	the	queen.	in	both	hands,	your	choice	is
either	to	play	for	the	drop	or	to	finesse	the	missing	card.	In	each	hand,	your	better	play	in	terms	of	the	odds	for
picking	up	that	one	additional	trick	is	to	play	the	finesse.

https://web2.acbl.org/Tournaments/Ads/2024/10/2410383.pdf
https://web2.acbl.org/Tournaments/Ads/2024/10/2410320.pdf
https://tournaments.acbl.org/schedule.php?sanction=2410111
https://web2.acbl.org/Tournaments/Ads/2024/11/2411338.pdf
https://web2.acbl.org/Tournaments/Ads/2024/11/2411344.pdf
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88302329816#success
https://www.acbldistrict16.org/calendar


	
Source:	A	Quick	Guide	to	Suit	Combinations	by	Vinh	Tran.
	
	

	

Puppet		Stayman	Over	1NT

	
	

One	of	the	very	first	bidding	conventions	that	new	bridge	players	learn	is	the	Stayman		convention	which	the
responder	to	a	NT	opener	uses	to	ask	the	NT	opener	if	he	or	she	has	a	four	card	major.	In	it's	most	basic	form,	the
Stayman	convention	is	used	by	the	responder	of	a	NT	opener	who	has	a	four	card	holding	in	one	or	both	major	suits
and	has	either	a	game	going	hand	of	10	or	more	points	or	an	invitational	hand	of	eight	or	nine	points.	The	theory	is
that	if	the	NT	opener	has	a	four	card	major	that	matches	with	a	four	card	major	held	by	that	responder,	the	play	of	a
contract	in	that	major	might	be	preferable	to	the	play	of	a	contract	in	NT.	So	the	basic	Stayman	convention	ferrets	out
a	4/4	fit	in	a	major	between	the	two	players.	But	what	if	the	two	players	have	an	eight	card	fit	in	a	major	which	is	split
5/3?	At	a	tournament	in	2019,	Robert	Morris	gave	the	following	presentation	on	a	convention	that	enables	the
responder	to	a	NT	opener	to	check	out	the	5/3	fit	possibility	in	terms	of	a	major	suit	fit.
	
	

	"Puppet	Stayman	Over	a	1	NT	Opening
	
If	your	partnership	occasionally	opens	1NT	with	a	five	card	major,	then	it	will	be	smart	to	search	for	a	5/3	fit	in	a
major.	Puppet	Stayman	is	an	effective	tool	to	have	for	that	search.	It	is	important	to	note	that	your	partnership	may
have	to	adjust	its	current	methods	to	include	this	convention	in	your	convention	agreements.
	
Using	Puppet	Stayman,	a	responder’s		bid	of	3	♣	over	opener’s	1NT	bid	asks	if	there	is		a	five	card	major	in	the
opener’s	hand.	The	responder’s	hand	must	meet	these	three	requirements:
	

(1)	Have	enough	strength	for	game	(or	more),
(2)	Have	at	least	one		three	card	major	and
(3)	Have	some	anxiety	about	a	final	contract	
						of	3NT;	i.e.	a	singleton	or	weak	doubleton	in	the	hand.

	
The	auction	proceeds	as	follows:						Opener										Responder

1NT															3	♣
	
3	♦	bid	by	Opener:	“I	do	not	have	a		five	card	major	but	I	may	have	a	four	card	major”
3	♥	bid	by	Opener:	“I	have	five	hearts”
3	♠	bid	by	Opener:	”I	have	five	spades”
	
Now	responder	continues	as	follows:
																				(1)	
																																																																	Opener												Responder

							1NT																		3	♣							
																																																																			3	♦
	
3	♥	bid	by	Responder	:		“I	have	four	spades”
3	♠	bid	by	Responder:	"I	have	four	hearts”
3NT	bid	by	Responder:	“We	will	play	a	3NT	contract	–	I	was	only	interested	in	whether	you	had	a	five	card	major”
4	♣	bid	by	Responder:	“I	have	five	clubs	and	am	interested	in	whether	we	have	a	slam”
4		♦	bid	by	Responder:	"I	have		five	diamonds	and	am	interested	in	whether	we	have	a	slam"
4NT	bid	(“Quantitative	Bid”)	by	Responder:	"I	have	an	opening	or	better	NT	hand	myself	and	am	interested	in	whether
we	have	a	NT	slam”
	

(2)
	Opener								Responder

1NT																3	♣	
																																																												3	♥

	
4	♥	bid	by	Responder:	"We	have	a	5/3	fit	in	hearts	and	will	play	a		4H	contract"
3NT	bid	by	Responder:	“I	was	looking	to	see	if	you	had	five	spades	not	five	hearts	and	we	will	play	a	3NT	contract"
3	♠	artificial	bid	by	Responder:	"We	have	a	fit	in	hearts	and	I	am	interested	in	whether	we	have	a	slam"
4	♣	bid	by	Responder:	“We	do	not	have	a	fit	in	hearts,	I	have	five	clubs	and	I	am	interested	in	whether	we	have	a
slam"
4	♦	bid	by	Responder:	"We	do	not	have	a	fit	in	hearts,	I	have	five	diamonds	and	I	am	interested	in	whether	we	have	a
slam”
4NT	Quantitative	Bid	by	Responder:	“We	do	not	have	a	fit	in	hearts	and	I	am	interested	in	a	NT	slam”
	

(3)
	Opener										Responder

1NT												3	♣	
																																																																								3	♠
	
4	♠	bid	by	Responder:	"We	have	a	5/3	fit	in	spades	and	will	play	a	4S	contract"
3NT	bid	by	Responder:	“I	was	looking	to	see	if	you	had	five	hearts	not	five	spades	and	we	will	play	a	3NT	contract”
3		♥	artificial	bid	by	Responder:	"We	have	a	fit	in	spades	and	I	am	interested	in	whether	we	have	a	slam"
4	♣	bid	by	Responder:	“We	do	not	have	a	fit	in	spades,	I	have	five	clubs	and	I	am	interested	in	whether	we	have	a



slam"
4	♦		bid	by	Responder:	"We	do	not	have	a	fit	in	spades,	I	have	five	diamonds	and	I	am	interested	in	whether	we	have
a	slam”
4NT	Quantitative	Bid	by	Responder:	“We	do	not	have	a	fit	in	spades	and	I	am	interested	in	a	
	
	
You	can	use	Puppet	Stamen	over	2NT	but	would	need	to	adjust	the	bidding	to	accommodate	the	higher	bidding	levels.
If	you	use	Puppet	Stayman	over	2NT,	you	cannot	use	Smolen	when	the	Responder		holds	5/4	in	the	majors.	Discuss
this	with	your	partner	before	agreeing	to	play	Puppet	Stayman	over	2NT.
	
	
	
	

Doubles	Q	&	A

Test	your	Bidding
																										

By	Eddie	Kantar	@
http://kantarbridge.com/

	
What	is	the	meaning	of	the	last	double	in	each	of	the	following	sequences?	Penalty,	or	takeout?
	
West									North								East					South																									
1NT										Pass									2♣								Dbl	(?)						
																	
Answer:	Penalty.	Doubles	of	artificial	bids	are	both	penalty	and	lead	directing.
																																																						
West									North								East		South																									
1NT											Dbl	(?)																																										
	
Answer:	Penalty.	The	double	of	an	opening	1NT	bid	announces	a	hand	that	is	as	good	as	the	openers
hand.
																																																						
West						North						East			South																																											
1♠										Dbl									2♠							Pass																			
Pass						Dbl	(?)																																							
	
Answer:	Takeout.	North	made	a	takeout	double	of	1♠	on	the	first	round,	so	his	hand	couldn't	change,
but	it	should	show	extra	values	given	the	level	of	the	second	double.
																																																																																																			
West			North				East				South																									
4♦							Dbl	(?)
	
Answer:	Takeout.
	
West				North						East				South																									
1♣								Pass						3♦								Dbl	(?)																								
	
Answer:	Takeout,	showing	both	majors	with	at	least	opening	hand	strength.
	
West						North				East				South																																											
1♠										Dbl								Rdbl				2♣																		
Dbl	(?)
	
Answer:	Penalty.	All	doubles	by	the	redoubling	side	are	for	penalty.
																																																						
West				North			East				South																									
1♥								Dbl						2♥								Dbl	(?)																																																																																							
	
Answer:	Takeout.	After	partner	makes	a	takeout		double	and	responder	raises,	a	double	by	the	fourth
hand	is	called	a	Responsive	Double	and	it	shows	two	places	to	play.	It	is	an	effort	to	land	in	the	right
suit.	South	doesn't	figure	to	have	spades	and	should	have	both	minors.
	
Reprinted	from	ACBL	Bridge	Bulletin	October	2017	p.	53.

	

ACBL	Puzzle	Hand



	
Hand	of	the	Month	from	the	ACBL	Bridge	Bulletin

Spade	Management
	

North
♠	AJ83
♥	86
♦	AQ6
♣	J872
	
South
♠	Q54
♥	A52
♦	KJ107
♣	A43
	

Play	South,	you	are	in	a	3NT	contract.	West,	who	was	the	dealer,	opened	the	bidding	with	1♥.	Given	that	hearts	are	5-
3,	how	will	you	make	nine	tricks	after	West	leads	the	♥K?
	

North
♠	AJ83
♥	86
♦	AQ6
♣	J872
	

West																																												East
♠	K106																																								♠	972																		
♥	KQJ93																																					♥	1074
♦	92																																												♦	8543
♣	K65																																									♣	Q109
	

South
♠	Q54
♥	A52
♦	KJ107
♣	A43
	

Dealer:	West
Vul:	None
Opening	Lead:	♥K				
	
Solution:	As	only	14	high-card	points	are	missing,	West	is	certain	to	hold	the	♠K.	Thus,	a	finesse	of	dummy’s	♠J	will
give	you	eight	tricks.	So,	assuming	West	holds	the	♠K,	the	problem	reduces	to	looking	for	a	ninth	trick.	One	chance	is
that	West	holds	a	singleton	or	doubleton	♠K.	In	both	cases	you	will	make	nine	tricks	as	long	as	you	do	not	have	your
♠Q	covered	by	the	king.	So	what	can	you	do	on	the	layout	shown?	Well,	after	holding	up	the	heart	ace	until	the	third
round	and	discarding	a	club	from	dummy,	you	make	the	avoidance	play	of	leading	a	low	spade	from	hand	and
covering	West’s	card.	When	West	follows	with	the	♠6,	East	takes	the	♠8	with	the	9.	East	has	no	heart	to	return,	so	he
will	surely	exit	with	a	low	club.	After	you	rise	with	the	♣A,	you	will	play	a	second	low	spade.	If	West	had	started	with	a
doubleton	♠K,	it	would	appear	and	you	would	have	the	three	spade	tricks	you	need,	despite	your	early	finesse	of	the
♠8.	The	benefit	of	the	deft	play	of	the	♠8	on	the	first	round	of	the	suit	comes	about	when	West	began	with	a	tripleton
♠K.	Here,	after	you	successfully	finesse	dummy’s	♠J,	the	♠K	will	fall	under	the	ace	and	dummy’s	♠3	will	be	your	ninth
trick.	This	approach	gives	roughly	a	60%	chance	of	making	3NT.	No	other	plan	approaches	those	odds.
	

It's	The	Law

The	Law	Regarding	Claims
	
A	claim	is	made	by	a	player	who	announces	or	demonstrates	in	some	manner	that	he	or	she	will	take	all	or	a	specified
number	of	the	tricks	of	a	hand	that	remain	unplayed	at	the	time	the	claim	is	made,.	A	claim	can	be	made	in	any	of	the
following	ways:
	
1.						A	player	intentionally	shows	his	or	her	cards	to	the	three	other	players’	cards	without	any	additional	statement.
2.						A	declarer	states	that	he	or	she	is	going	to	make	a	specified	number	of	the	remaining	tricks	in	a	hand	without
exposing	his	or	her	cards.
3.						A	player	exposes	his	or	her	cards	to	the	other	three	players	with	a	statement	specifying	what	line	of	play	he	or
she	will	follow	from	then	on.	This	is	the	preferred	method	for	claiming.
	
If	there	is	an	immediate	concession	of	the	claim,	the	board	is	scored	and	the	players	move	on	to	the	next	board.	If,
however,	there	is	an	objection	to	the	claim	either	the	director	must	be	called	or	play	must	continue,	subject	to	a
number	of	criteria	and	including	agreement	by	all	players	to	continue	the	play.		If	the	Director	is	summoned	after	a
claim	is	contested,	play	immediately	ceases	and	the	director	must	decide	who	wins	the	remaining	tricks.	In	ruling	on	a
contested	claim	or	concession,	the	director	adjudicates	the	result	of	the	board	as	equitably	as	possible	to	both	sides,
but	any	doubtful	point	as	to	a	claim	is	to	be	resolved	against	the	claimer.
	
ACBL	Duplicate	Decisions,	A	Club	Directors	Guide	for	Rooting	at	the	Table,	revised	September	2020	at	pages	152	and
158.
	
Common	Sense	Guides



	
Here	are	some	common	sense	guides	regarding	how	to	make	claims.	Although	written	as	if	it	is	the	declarer	making
the	claim,	remember	that	the	defense	is	also	entitled	to	make	a	claim	and	that	the	rules	would	be	generally	applicable
to	that	situation	as	well:
	
•	When	exposing	your	hand	to	make	a	claim,	fan	the	cards	so	that	they	can	all	be	seen	and	expose	the	fan	well	in
front	of	you	all	at	once	–	do	not	“play”	the	cards	in	the	fan	or	touch	them	-	just	place	the	fan	in	front	of	you	for	all
players	to	see.
•	Use	this	preferred	method	for	claiming,	and	state	your	line	of	play	as	you	expose	your	cards.
•	When	claiming	a	suit	contract,	you	should	almost	always	start	with	one	of	two	simple	declarative	sentences:	“Trump
are	all	in,”	or,	“I	am	pulling	trump	immediately.”
•	When	claiming	a	notrump	contract,	be	patient.	As	declarer,	you	were	keeping	track	of	all	four	suits,	but	the
defenders	probably	were	not	and	may	need	a	little	extra	time	to	satisfy	themselves	that	your	cards	are	all	good.
•	When	claiming	a	notrump	contract,	be	sure	to	address	transportation	if	your	claim	involves	taking	tricks	in	both	your
hand	and	the	dummy.
•	As	declarer	you	generally	will	wait	until	it	is	your	turn	to	play	to	make	a	claim,	but	it	is	permissible	to	make	a	claim
when	the	defense	is	on	lead.	If	you	do	so,	however,	your	stated	line	of	play	needs	to	address	the	defense’s	lead
alternatives	and	how	they	will	be	handled	in	the	context	of	your	claim.
•	It	is	permissible	to	make	a	claim	that	includes	acknowledging	loss	of	a	trick,	but	if	you	do	so,	not	only	should	you
acknowledge	the	loss	of	the	trick,	but	you	should	explain	clearly	why	it	cannot	result	in	the	loss	of	any	other	tricks.
	
	

	


